2024 J. William and Mary Diederich College of Communication Award Recipients



VetscherCommunicator of the Year Award
Timothy J. Vetscher, Comm ’98
Menomonee Falls, Wis

For Timothy Vetscher, news director at TMJ4 News in Milwaukee, his role is not limited to the newsroom but extends to his efforts to Be The Difference in his community. He views journalism as a way to improve life for people living in Southeast Wisconsin.

Click to Learn More


CauseyByline Award
James E. Causey, Comm ’92
Milwaukee, Wis.

James Causey’s writing career began when he won an essay writing contest as a student at Jackie Robinson Middle School. He has spent decades honing his craft to become a highly successful reporter and columnist for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Click to Learn More


ChuaProfessional Achievement Award u
Linus Chua, Comm ’94

When Linus Chua arrived at Marquette, he was a kid from Singapore who walked into East Hall with a bag full of dreams. Three decades later, Linus has transformed those dreams into reality as the executive editor for Bloomberg Today and Daybreak in Asia.

Click to Learn More


HaleService Award
Joshua D. Hale, Comm ’95
Chicago, Ill.

As president and CEO of the Big Shoulders Fund, Joshua Hale has dedicated his career to the Jesuit ideal of cura personalis, care for the whole person. The Big Shoulders Fund helps kids in need in Chicago and Northwest Indiana achieve their dreams through access to a quality, values-based education.

Click to Learn More


SadoffYoung Alumna of the Year Award
Lacey Sadoff, Comm ’05
Milwaukee, Wis.

These days, successful multigenerational family businesses are unique and special entities. That’s why Lacey Sadoff is so passionate about continuing her family’s legacy. As the fourth-generation co-owner and president of Badger Liquor, the largest wine and spirits distributor in Wisconsin, Lacey takes pride in employing more than 500 people and helping them grow professionally.

Click to Learn More


JBridgesames T. Tiedge Memorial Award
Mary Clegg Bridges, Sp ’75 
Mequon, Wis.

Mary Bridges’ marketing career has left its imprint on many Milwaukee cultural institutions, including Summerfest and the Milwaukee Public Museum. She finds continued fulfillment in her role as a marketing and public relations consultant by bringing awareness about important issues to the public.

Click to Learn More


u Celebrating a Marquette Reunion