2023 Department of Intercollegiate Athletics Award Recipients

MatthewsDistinguished Alumnus of the Year Award
Wesley D. Matthews IV, Comm ’09
Verona, Wis.

Wesley Matthews is in his fourteenth season in the National Basketball Association and is currently a member of the Milwaukee Bucks. He has played in nearly 1,000 career games for six teams and scored over 11,000 points, the fourth-most by any Marquette player in NBA history.

Click to Learn More


GaareYoung Alumna of the Year Award
Ashley Baird-Gaare, Comm ’07
Mequon, Wis.

Ashley Baird-Gaare left her life and her family behind in Kansas to play soccer for Marquette. Today, Ashley is a successful Milwaukee technology leader, serving as SoftwareONE’s president for North America and the first female Extended Executive Board member for the global organization, which has a presence in more than 90 countries.

Click to Learn More


GeenanFriends of Marquette Athletics Award
Nancy Geenen and Dr. Joseph E. Geenen, Arts ’57, Med ’60
Milwaukee, Wis.




BakerM Club Hy Popuch Memorial Service Award
Aaron J. Baker (posthumously)
Germantown, Wis.

The Hy Popuch Award recognizes someone who has demonstrated loyal and dedicated service to Marquette Athletics over a long period of time. That description could not be more fitting for Aaron Baker, who faithfully served Marquette Athletics for 19 years until his death in October 2022.

Click to Learn More


EichhornRobert L. and William P. McCahill Award
Hunter S. Eichhorn, Comm ’21, Grad ’22
Carney, Mich.

Hunter Eichhorn epitomizes the Marquette student-athlete: successful not only in athletics, but also academics and service. As he embarks on his next step, pursuing his career in professional golf in Tennessee, Hunter is taking the Marquette mission with him through a passion for helping others, self-improvement, learning from mistakes, and leading by example.

Click to Learn More